Going Self-Hosted

A huge thanks to everyone who took the time to the reader survey for Catholic Cravings!

It gave me a fantastic idea of who people are, where they’re at and what they want to see more of. For example, I didn’t know around 20% of readers are clergy, consecrated religious or actively discerning the religious life. That’s kinda cool!

Today, I’m beginning the process of moving the blog to self-hosted WordPress with Bluehost. To make sure you don’t lose track of Catholic Cravings, be sure to like the blog on Facebook!

 

God willing, it will all go relatively smoothly and I’ll see you on the other side!

Love yous all!

8 responses to “Going Self-Hosted

  1. Good luck with the move. My family has a webhosting account, and I’ve fiddled with WordPress on it (see home.lonelypilgrim.com), but I haven’t found enough reason to go self-hosted. WordPress.com does most everything I need to do, and has the added bonus of built-in community. What made you decide to switch?

    • Thanks! 🙂 I had a look bit to clarify, that’s NOT your blog? It was a bit confusing… 😛 WordPress.com is brilliant, there are just a few things I want to do which I can’t and many others I at least want the option to do. Hopefully you’ll see when it’s up and running! Plus, you have more control and that appeals to me! 😉

      • Yeah, I like running things too, but since I have to keep so many plates spinning right now, it’s preferable to let somebody else take care of most of it. One thing I would like to do — and I suspect there are already plugins for this, since I’ve seen other sites do it, but I would want to program my own — is a plugin to automatically pop up Scriptures when floating over Scripture references!

        • Haha, that’s one of the things I’m looking forward to! 😉 But yeah, I have the time at the moment and I don’t know if I will later on. So it seems sensible to do it now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

