I Am From

Often I blog to say something, but every so often I blog just because. This is a synchroblog with SheLoves and it’s just because. I’ve been wanting to do one of these for ages but it’s never been the right time. it’s still not the right time but I’m doing it anyway. Just because.

I-AM-FROM_800

419510_10151316515917068_1035862804_n

I am from old books, from clothes on the floor and chocolate in the cupboard.

I am from the dark house by the rich school and a buried Saint.

I am from daisies in the wall.

I am from the the Frangapani whose long limbs I remember as if they were my own. (This is not true, I pass it often without a thought.)

I’m from slide nights and a stubborn will to succeed, from a tall father and a sweet mother. 

I’m from afternoon naps and annual budgets.

I’m from “I love you more than you love me” and “No, I love you more than you love me” , from Santana and Losing My Religion and Tell Laura I Love Her and “Are you making a cuppa tea?”

I’m from putting candles in the window for Mary and Joseph on Christmas Eve.

I’m from The North (where the dragons roam), from Privilege and a Bubble So Big You Can See It From Outer Space, from Oatley and Potato Point and Maughanclea in West Cork, from Salmon Rissoles and Tabbouleh and Another Cuppa Tea.

From that time when I was ten and my brother hit me in the head with a baseball bat and I got stitches and a book on Versailles and the court of the Sun King and the two just about levelled out.

I am from freckles.

I’m from Nanna’s wisteria that grows in the sun.

And I am from the mind of a King.

Leave a Reply

