Mary and me

I love Mary. I love her too little, I love her selfishly, I love her haphazardly, but I do love her.

In my small way, I would sing her praises every moment.

Francesco De Mura, Immacolata Concezione

Francesco De Mura, Immacolata Concezione

You know when something just sits right? That’s how it is with me and Mary. At first I thought it was all a bit random and pagan, that I should have this rather potent swell of affection for a woman I just met.

But the more I think about it, the more it seems quite the reverse. C S Lewis says that the Saints and Angels, this crowd of witnesses, these heavenly peers we’re often told about, have always been there alongside us. That these benevolent forces aren’t new at all, and that when we see them, we shall know them- as one can recognise a childhood friend or a pen pal. We shall finally speak the name’s of those we have always known in Spirit.

“Aha! It’s You!” we will say, as we, at long last, are re-united. So, perhaps Mary was always there- and I only now know to call her ‘mother.’

More than that, I sometimes wonder, whether or not this Immaculate Virgin Queen was made for us, and we for her. We have need of a Mother, that may be true, but the Church’s love for Mary is more than an obligation: it’s somehow, organic.  As a duck takes to water, or a child to it’s mother’s breast, Mary is for us.

St. Louis Marie de Montfort says,

“God the Father gathered all the waters together and called them the seas (maria). He gathered all his graces together and called them Mary (Maria). The great God has a treasury or storehouse full of riches in which he has enclosed all that is beautiful, resplendent, rare, and precious, even his own Son. This immense treasury is none other than Mary whom the saints call the ‘treasury of the Lord’. From her fullness all men are made rich.” (True Devotion to Mary, 23)

-New Theological Movement

This week at church, before an altar of Our Lady, someone turned to me and said,

“If you ask our Lady for anything, she’ll do it for you.”

Now, usually, when someone makes an unchecked profession of childish faith, I feel the need to contest it: “Poor soul!” I might think, “How foolish they are not to think more critically, how stupid!” Not this time. I was only touched, deeply, by this beautiful and simple expression of piety.

That’s the way it is with Mary and me, my love for her grows,  the pleasure I take in her seems too much for church. Praying to her, singing her Litanies, looking at artwork of her, thinking of her titles: it makes me happy.

Inviolata, Untier of Knots, Immaculata, Gebira, Mother of Sorrows, Mother of Consolation, Seat of Wisdom, Earthly Paradise, Queen of Angels, Queen of Confessors, Tower of David, Star of the Sea,

Sanctissima! Piissima! Mother of God! Queen of Peace!

Who is she that looketh forth as the morning, fair as the moon, clear as the sun, and terrible as an army with banners?

-Song of Solomon 6:10

Now, as for whether or not this is all heresy:

If loving Mary makes me a heretic, then light the fire and erect that stake- because I’ll be singing till I’m good and crispy.

Hail Holy Queen!

5 responses to “Mary and me

Leave a Reply

