How I Met the Sacred Heart {First Friday Link-Up}

FF Link Up 250

It’s a First Friday!!!

WOOO!!!!!!! (Can you tell I’m a little excited?)

First Friday means I, along with Ryan at Back of the World, and a host of others, are writing posts in honour of the Sacred Heart of Jesus!

Then, we head over to www.OMostSacredHeart.com and add our link to the linky-thingy-ma-bob!

(The link will stay open a while so we would love for you to add a post! I know I’ll be reading them all!)

__________

My grandmother is Irish and she is an incredible woman. (Actually, what am I saying? I’m just repeating myself there. She’s Irish. Of course she’s incredible.)

But really, she is.

Born in Cork, she fell in love with an ambitious Irishman who had the temerity to leave for the opposite side of the world, that great unwashed contintent, that backwater of civilisation: Australia. (It was the 1950s, people, and say what you want about Australians, we’ve never been terribly classy.)

About six months later, he wrote back to her and said, “jump on the next boat and come marry me.” So she did. She’s always been brave and determined like that. Unstoppable might be a better word.

Fortunately for me, she is also a woman of deep faith. She was the one who took me to St Patrick’s Church whenever we went to the city, and let me light the candles and guess who all the saints along the walls were. She is the one who taught me to pray to St Anthony whenever we went into a car park. She is the one who offered a decade of the Rosary for me every night.

And she was the one who gave me a little book called the Treasury of the Sacred Heart.

It was through that little book that I met, and fell in love with, the Sacred Heart. I was still an Evangelical Christian at the time but my heart just got these prayers and aspirations to the Heart of Jesus. I recognise the same fervency, the same passion, the same longing to be completely Christ’s – to give Him my heart and to be found, safe and beloved, in His.

O Heart

I kept it by my bed, and without even realising it, I found myself thinking about the Sacred Heart. And then I found myself praying to the Sacred Heart. And then loving the Sacred Heart.

Because seriously, God has a Heart. Just let that sink in. Not a metaphorical heart or a symbolical heart or some weird hologram heart but a true flesh-and-blood Heart. A Heart just like yours and mine, except not your yours and mine because His Heart is divine and His Heart “is compassion itself.” It was, and is, my comfort and my stronghold, my refuge and my happy place. When I hear the words, “Sacred Heart”, I hear the infallible proof of God’s love:

In this is love, not that we loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the expiation for our sins. (1 John 4:10)

My grandmother doesn’t speak much about her faith. When she gave me the book, I was both a Protestant and, far more dangerously, a self-absorbed teenager. So of course, I assumed that she didn’t have much of a faith. Learning to love the Sacred Heart has taught me how very, very, very wrong I was.

Now, we get together and giggle about how much we love the Sacred Heart. She tells me that she couldn’t get through the day without the Heart of Jesus.

I tell her, “me too.”

And that whenever she’s feeling anxious she prays to the Sacred Heart, “O Most Sacred of Jesus, I place all my trust in Thee.” 

I tell her, “me too.”

Then she tells me how sad she is that people don’t seem to love the Sacred Heart anymore, how every home had a portrait of the Sacred Heart when she was growing up, and how she hopes people will love the Sacred Heart more because He is so very, very good.

And I tell her, I hope so too.

Be sure to head over to OMostSacredHeart.com to see all the post in honour of the Sacred Heart! Read a few, go to Mass and be sure to pray that the Sacred Heart be loved by all!

Sacred Heart 2

13 responses to “How I Met the Sacred Heart {First Friday Link-Up}

  1. “Then she tells me how sad she is that people don’t seem to love the Sacred Heart anymore, how every home had a portrait of the Sacred Heart when she was growing up, and how she hopes people will love the Sacred Heart more because He is so very, very good.

    And I tell her, I hope so too.”

    Amen! That’s why we’re doing what we’re doing!!!

  2. Thanks, Laura for yours and Ryan’s witness (and blog) to honour the Sacred Heart of Jesus. It’s still Thursday evening in Canada and the sun is still shining so I’ll post tomorrrow morning (or your Friday evening) or maybe I’ll just post tonight on the first Friday vigil………confusing 😉

    • Oh, I’m so glad Anne! Thank you so much for participating! My grandma is indeed incredibly awesome, but mainly because she has an awesome God. 😀

  3. Lovely post! But I must disagree with one point, “say what you want about Australians, we’ve never been terribly classy” – I dunno about most Australians as I have met almost none, but you, anyway, go into the “classy” column, and sounds like your grandmother would, too. Keep up the blogging!

  4. Hi Laura,

    I’m interested to know why you think this practice wouldn’t violate Chalcedon? I.e. Why this wouldn’t be confusing the divine and human natures in Christ so that the human heart is divinised?

    Thanks,

    Gerard

    • Hey Gerard, fair question! (And an important one!) 🙂

      While Chalcedon insisted that we mustn’t confuse the two natures of Christ, it was equally insistent that we only worship one Christ in His two natures.The ninth canon says: “If anyone shall take the expression, Christ ought to be worshipped in his two natures, in the sense that he wishes to introduce thus two adorations, the one in special relation to God the Word and the other as pertaining to the man… and does not venerate, by one adoration, God the Word made man, together with his flesh, as the Holy Church has taught from the beginning: let him be anathema.”

      Because honour and worship is paid to persons and not to natures, we can rightly adore all of Christ, including His Sacred Flesh, because He is the Word Incarnate. In regard to the Sacred Heart, that flesh is the immediate object of adoration but it is so because the whole object is the Christ Incarnate, while the formal object is the Second Person of the Blessed Trinity.

      So when I worship the Sacred Heart, I am not doing so because it is a human heart but because it is the heart of the Word made flesh, who is God. There is a distinction in the natures which of course we have to acknowledge, yet at the same time Chalcedon means that we can’t honour Christ in two different ways – like His divinity is worshipped and His humanity (or His Heart) is merely respected or something, because again, honour is paid to persons: the Word made flesh.

      I hope that all makes sense – let me know if I’ve said something strange! 🙂

      God bless you,

      Laura

Leave a Reply

