Getting to Know You (& A Letter!) {Not Alone Series}

not alone5This week with the Not Alone Series, we are getting to know one another a little bit! It’s one of the funny things about blogging like this.

We know so much of each other’s hearts, our joys and fears and longings and hopes, and yet we don’t know stuff like… how old are you anyway? Or where do you live? Or what do you even do when you’re not awesomely blogging with other NAS girls? Good questions, right!?

So here goes me…

Age: 

I’m twenty-four! (I also like writing numbers out, it’s my small rebellion against efficiency.)

Area of country: 

I live in Sydney, Australia the most absurdly beautiful city in the world. But seriously, I walk down the road and I take a pic like this…

923527_10151592072887068_1521933351_n

Are you working? If so, what do you do? Or, are you in school? 

I’m studying theology at the University of Notre Dame Australia, and I am about to begin my master’s thesis on the Sacred Heart of Jesus. I absolutely love the Sacred Heart, my refuge and my joy, my peace and my protector. So I’m pretty excited!!!

Family (let’s see some pics!):

All in all, I’m pretty nutty about my family. I genuinely believe they are the greatest people on the plane. (You think I’m joking… I’m not.) I’m blessed to have two fantastically wonderful parents, and one younger brother who is amazing, hilarious, and very different from me.

Here’s us four at my graduation a few months ago. (Incidentally, I blame my (very) high expectations of men on the two standing on either side of me. Also, isn’t my mum just gorgeous!? The nicest compliment I get these days is when people say I’m becoming more like her every day. Not going to lie, it’s kind of my goal in life.)

994822_10151742248332068_319887168_n

How did your parents meet?

Ooooh, good question! Well, my mum’s eldest brother and one of my dad’s friends were flatmates and they met at a party/thing there when my mum was only 19. According to my dad, as soon as he walked into the room and saw my mum, he thought, “I could marry that girl.” They started going out out about a month later, and four-ish years after that, got married!

But far more romantic than any story of how my parents met is how they stayed together. Last year, they celebrated thirty years of marriage! Wooo!!! These guys are teaching me what love is.

Confirmation Saint:

When I was twelve, I chose St Catherine of Alexandria because she is the patron saint of girls, librarians, and winning arguments. And that pretty much sums out my entire life!

Raphael, St Catherine of Alexandria, 1508 (National Gallery, London)

Raphael, St Catherine of Alexandria, 1508 (National Gallery, London)

Favorite Gospel? 

The first one! Seriously, you can’t go past Matthew’s gospel. (Well, technically you can…) I love it all from the genealogy in the first chapter to the Great Commission in the twenty-eight.

# of previous relationships (ya know, that required a FB status change!) 

Zero. Yeah, I’ve never been in a relationship. I’ve never been on a date either. (This means if I ever give you relationship advice, or start pontificating about marriage, take it with a pinch of salt… and then some.) I’m not majorly excited about that fact, but at the same time I can see how God got me out of a lot of situations which just would have gotten nasty. Mostly, I give Him begrudging thanks. 😉

Top 3 qualities you are looking for in your hubby (b/c, hey, maybe we can help each other out! Cousin? Coworker?) 

Hmm, well the first things that come to mind are:

  1. Catholic
  2. Loves me
  3. Exists

Although not necessarily in that order… Ok, but seriously, that’s a hard question. I suppose I’d like to be with someone who has:

  1. A passionate love for God.
  2. Strength of character and a willingness to lead our family in the Faith.
  3. And a lot of nerdiness. (Seriously, the thought of being married to someone who didn’t at least understand how I could get so excited about the Trinity, Neo-Medievalism, or flags is a horrible, horrible thought.)

But honestly, I don’t really know! Like, I think I like certain quality or a certain type and then the next year, I’ve changed my mind! (Cf. my extensive dating experience above.) I’m just kind of flying blind here, praying my heart out and hoping for the best.

Also, just because it’s the feast day of St Monica!

Giaochino Assereto, St Augustine and St Monica, 17th C. (Minneapolis Institute of Arts)

Giaochino Assereto, St Augustine and St Monica, 17th C. (Minneapolis Institute of Arts)

What is your fave thing to do outside of blogging and work/school?

Mass!!! Seriously, Mass but in terms of hobbies (and not, you know, the source and summit of the Christian life), probably reading theology, drinking tea from commemorative royal mugs, watching whatever my flatmate is watching on Netflix, pinning pretty quotes and dresses I’ll never wear on Pinterest, listening to the waves on the Harbour, experimenting with how much stuff in my fridge I can cook with garlic and onions, and perhaps most of all, getting together with friends for a drink (tea, chai or beer, I’m flexible), a debrief, and a lot of giggling.

Because that’s probs my favourite thing to do: giggle inappropriately!

Advice for a single lady (in tweet-like fashion, 140 characters or less)

[yeah, I’m really bad at twitter so I wrote more of a letter…]

My darling single sister,

You might think you have a goal – marriage – and that because you are single, you are somehow failing it. You’re not. Still, I wish there was a short-cut. And I wish I could give you that short-cut so bad because I know how much it can hurt. (That, and if it worked I’d be a gazillionaire!)

But there is no shortcut. Why? Because ultimately, your goal isn’t marriage, and as much as I hate it sometimes, my goal in life isn’t finding a loving, strong, nerdy Catholic man who a) exists and b) is willing to indulge my enthusiasm for flags and old books. The goal is brain-breaking, heart-stopping, limb-jellying joy through perfect union with the Most Blessed Trinity.  

So I have only one piece of advice: entrust your heart to the Sacred Heart of Jesus, and your longings for marriage to the Immaculate Heart of His Mother. And know this: You are loved, now and always by an Almighty Servant-King.

Everything else is just detail.

I love you, sis.

Laura

Remember to read more at Jumping in Puddles! 

20 responses to “Getting to Know You (& A Letter!) {Not Alone Series}

  1. I just have to tell you how much I love your blog. I’m just about to go to Mass myself, and I’ll remember you there. I find your words and meditations on the faith so inspiring; well done, and keep writing! 🙂

  2. Nice to meet you! I’ve been reading here off and on for a few months, but I just now realized you’re a convert too. I think I’m going to start reading your posts on that!

    • I started reading your conversion story and thought it seemed so familiar … Then I realized I’d already read it. What shall I say, still recovering from a very long and full weekend. 😀

  3. Nice to meet you! I’m halfway around the world, but I loved what you had to say about the joyful union with the Trinity being the top priority!

    Peace be with you,
    Kelly

    • Hi Kelly! 🙂 Lovely to “meet” you too! And congrats on being on the other side of the world. I hear it’s just gorgeous over there! 😉

  4. How did I miss that you’re from AU?! So sweet.

    In regards to the part about not having any experience with relationships so you might not give the best advice, I would disagree. I was ranting to a friend (in a non-hostile way haha) about relationships and stuff…then threw in a disclaimer about how I really don’t have the experience to back up what I’m saying and she told me something along the lines of “knowledge without experience is wisdom”…so in turn, I say that to you! You’re wise, lady! Let your wisdom loose! 🙂

  5. Australia, I’ve always wanted to travel there just to loose a day, plus it is seriously gorgeous. Love the first 3 things especially #3. Thank you for the letter.

  6. Great post! Australia sounds beautiful. And that is awesome that you are doing your thesis on the Sacred Heart! Love it. You have a great sense of humor in your post too 🙂

  7. Haha oh yes that is defiantly a letter and not a tweet. Wohoo for zero zilch sisters!! Completely on the same page about not being thrilled that the number is zero but also seeing God’s hand. Sydney Australia awesome!

    • Haha, I did TRY to write a tweet but it just failed abysmally! Glad to meet another proud zeroer! 😀 It’s not always easy is it but then, I do look at the heart break of other friends and think, you know, mine is just different kind of heart break. But either way, God totally knows what He’s doing and He is already bringing good out of this! 🙂

    • I’m truly dreadful at writing tweets! 🙂 But here’s to us zero zilchers!! I can only assume God is saving up for something real special. 😉

Leave a Reply

