18 Books that Changed Our Lives {NAS}

not alone5

I was thinking about books that have changed my life, and drawn me closer to the Lord. But there are sooooo many!

So rather than just having a list of books I love, I asked five beautiful, amazing, young single Christian woman three books that changed their lives.

(And because I’m writing this so late, I’m naming us after Disney Princesses. Yes, I really should go to bed…)

These aren’t necessarily the greatest books, and they might not be the ones we even agree with now. They are Catholic books, and Protestant books, and books that encompass all of Christianity. They are the books that God, in His mercy, used to draw us to Himself. (I wrote this bit when I was feeling sane, can you tell?)

This-Tremendous-Lover62849lgCinderella served up these three…

This Tremendous Lover by M. Eugene Boylan

The Way by St Josemaria Escriva

7 Secrets of the Eucharist by Vinny Flynn

__________

1400070643Mulan tried to hide it but her favourites were…

Joy of Fearing God by Jerry Bridges

Too Busy Not to Pray: Slowing Down to be with God by Bill Hybels

The Purpose Driven Life: What on Earth Am I Here For? by Rick Warren

__________

the-great-divorceSnow White whittled it down to,

The Great Divorce by C. S. Lewis

The Difficult Doctrine of the Love of God by D. A. Carson

The Heavenly Man by Paul Hattaway

__________

book_r48Belle believes these books were the most influential,

The Imitation of Christ by Thomas a Kempis

The Secret of the Rosary by St Louis-Marie de Montfort

Wife, Mother & Mystic by Albert Bessieres, S. J.

__________

90c492351bbca9db5fec429fe8addf7eAriel announced hers as,

Diary: Divine Mercy in My Soul by St Faustina

The Autobiography of St Margaret Mary

Reason to Believe: A Personal Story by Ron Tesoriero

__________

Pub_PackerKnowing2And finally, Jasmine judged it to be these three,

Knowing God by J. I. Packer

Paradoxes of Catholicism by R. H. Benson

Disciplines of a Godly Woman by Barbara Hughes

__________

So there you have it! 18 real books that had the biggest, wonderfulest impact on six real Disney Princesses!

Aaaaand… I think I’ve officially hit Crazytown. Actually, do you want to know one tip that will totally change your life? Go to bed early. 

I’ve heard it opens up a whole new world… you might start thinking there’s something there, so be our guest… or be a man. Ok Laura, STEP AWAY FROM THE KEYBOARD AND THAT’S ENOUGH DISNEY PUNS FOR ONE NIGHT. 

But what have been the three most influential books for you?

Read some fantastic posts on equally fantastic resources for Christian (single) women over at Morgan’s!

4 responses to “18 Books that Changed Our Lives {NAS}

  1. “Excuse Me, I Think Your Elephant is Showing!” That’s not the title of a book, by the way – it’s just what’s been going through my mind the last couple of days. So, I thought ‘I’ll ask Laura about that!” And so I am: Laura – is anyone actually doing anything about Ecumenism, or is it just something everyone talks about?….You’ve seen both sides of the picture – are there any tangible steps ordinary Catholics can take to actually reach out to protestants? Or is there some unwritten rule that I’m missing?

    • Hey, it’s a great question! I’d definitely say ordinary Catholics are reaching out to Protestants. I just came from an Evangelical Christian campus event, where a Catholic was speaking. A good friend of mine recently spent time at a Protestant conference, and another is doing a bible study with Orthodox Christians. I think the most important thing is establishing real friendships, and cooperating on the things we can agree on. I know many young Catholics have a huge passion to see the Church grow in unity. Obviously, we’d like for all our Protestant brothers and sisters to fully reconciled to the Catholic Church, but either way, we want to love them and share our lives with them because they are our brothers and sisters. I suspect that the next big impetus for ecumenism will be a grassroots one, particularly as faithful, orthodox Protestants and Catholics find themselves increasingly at odds with a secular world that has abandoned God. I hope that helps! 🙂

      • Thanks, Laura, I feel a bit better, now. (BTW, I’m not young.)
        While I’ve got you here, are you going to the Catholic New media Conference? I’m making the great voyage over from Tasmania.

  2. Hi, Laura! I love your post! So funny and clever! I also like how they’re not all “single Catholic lady book”…the spiritual classics can be really enriching, too!

Leave a Reply

