One Year Old!

Guess what? Guess what!?Birthday Cupcake With Lit Candle

I’ve now been blogging for one whole year.

IT’S MY ONE YEAR ANNIVERSARY!

When I started this blog, I never imagined that one year on, I would still be writing, let alone that anyone would still be reading. I certainly didn’t imagine over 25,000 views, or over 1,000 comments. Most importantly, I couldn’t even have begun to imagine the friends I have made through this blog, or how deeply it has enriched my life.

Seriously, I don’t know which is best about blogging: the unbeatable therapy it provides for wordy, introverted types like me, or the unbelievably talented and gracious friends I have made in the process.Dear friends like Joseph at the Lonely Pilgrim, the Jess and her merry men at All Along the Watchtower, Ryan at The Back of the World, Terry at 8 Kids and a Business, NEO the Nebraska Energy Observer, Monica at Carpe Veritatem, Daniel at Daniel Nour and circlecitadel (whose actual name I still don’t know… he’s so sneaky.)

Actually, it’s both. Silly me, how could it not be both? The joy of writing is being able to share – to take what’s trapped in my own head and share it with others in a way that makes them go, “oh you too? I thought I was the only one!” Or “Huh, I never thought of it like that before…” Or sometimes even “You are a idiot/certifiable crazy person but that’s good to know for future reference.”

That’s fine by me. I’m very open about the less-than-perfect aspects of my life. I know this weirds some people out and occassionally, I find it weird too. You know something is up when your psychologist begins your sessions with “So I was reading on your blog…” But whatevs. I don’t do pretense. I do honest. I do searching, passionate, and self-deprecating. (And yes, I use the word whatevs. Totes whatevs.)

Because if I’m not honest about the crappy stuff, why should anyone listen when I’m being honest about the amazing stuff? Freaking amazing stuff like the Sacred Heart of my Lord, or the beauty of the Rosary, or my conviction that this is the Church founded by Christ, built on the Apostles, and guarded by the Holy Spirit?

If I share my life it’s only because I want to share Him, the only One who can satisfy all the cravings of my wayward heart. And yes, I truly believe, of yours too. So thank you for reading, for liking, and for all your support and prayers. (Don’t think I don’t know that there’s no way I could do anything for a whole year without some serious prayer!)

I’m getting all goey and sentimental inside now – I blame it on my birthday tomorrow (!!!) – but seriously, thank you.

You totes rock. In fact…

0d6e3c6f1c49614c362fbafb286084db

And that, my dears, is a lot.

5 responses to “One Year Old!

  1. Congrats on the anniversary, and happy birthday!!! And I totally agree that blogging is both great therapy AND a great way to make friends.

  2. Congrats and happy birthday!!! Although I’m a fairly new reader, I’ve been loving your posts – may you write for many years to come 😀

Leave a Reply

