15 Favourite Pictures of Pope Francis’ Inaugural Mass

slide_287044_2235827_freePilgrims run into St Peter's squareInaugural mass of Pope Francis in St. Peter's Square-1772757slide_287044_2236578_free

Pope Francis waves as he is driven through the crowd prior to his inaugural Mass, in St. Peter's Square at the Vatican

slide_287044_2236728_free Inaugural mass of Pope Francis in St. Peter's Square-1772618ALeqM5hK7p-Lxto6jLwabZRxbZRm4vTNywInaugural mass of Pope Francis in St. Peter's Square-1772628slide_287044_2236020_free slide_287044_2236026_free slide_287044_2236213_free (1)slide_287044_2236146_freeInaugural mass of Pope Francis in St. Peter's Square-1772594

pope-priest_2513336k

We got us a pope!

12 responses to “15 Favourite Pictures of Pope Francis’ Inaugural Mass

  1. Thanks for the photos! The second one made me smile. πŸ™‚

    But tell me, do you have any idea why princess Charlene wore black this time? I thought privilège du blanc was extended to Monaco earlier this year.

    • I only wish I knew!! I don’t think anyone does. It may be that it was a one-off privilege, or a mistake on someone’s part that everyone pretended was meant to happen, or maybe Charlene chose to wear black – for some reason. If you find out or hear any hints, let me know! πŸ™‚

      • I’m beginning to think there might be a mistake involded. Shame on Charlene’s assistants if that is the case. But anyway, she looked nice. In white and in black. πŸ™‚

        I will keep my ears open and report to you if I hear anything. πŸ™‚

    • Oh, maybe its my Englishness, but I thought she was just doing the respectful thing and wearing a Black mantilla…?
      Inother words I haven’t the foggiest that there was any extra meaning – is there?

      • Laura has a great post about this subject here https://catholiccravings.wordpress.com/2013/01/14/repost-princess-charlene-makes-history-at-the-vatican/

        Traditionally few queens has had a privilege to wear white when meeting the pope while everyone else is wearing white. Earlier the princess of Monaco hasn’t had that privilege but in January princess Charlene wore white. Now she wore black again and that made me think why is that. Of course black dress and mantilla are respectful and beautiful but it’s just interesting why she didn’t wear white (like queen Paola of Belgium and Grand Duchess Maria Teresa of Luxemburg) if she could. πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Grateful Sundays ~ 24th March 2013 | CATHOLIC CRAVINGS·

Leave a Reply

