Pope Francis!

This morning at 5:36am, I woke up.

My phone was going nuts and as soon as I realised why, so was I.

WHITE SMOKE!! HABEMUS PAPAM!!! I flicked on the TV. I was afraid I’d wake my lovely flatmates but then I thought, WHO CARES?! HABEMUS PAPAM!!! (I know, I’m such a great Christian…)

And of course then of course we heard it.

“Annuntio vobis gaudium magnum; habemus Papam: Eminentissimum ac Reverendissimum Dominum, Dominum Georgium Marium Sanctae Romanae Ecclesiae Cardinalem Bergoglioqui sibi nomen imposuit Franciscum”

Jorge Mario Bergoglio! Pope Francis!

I’ve spent the last two weeks reading every I can on the papabile precisely so when Cardinal Tauron announced him, I would know him. And like nearly everyone else, I had no idea who the dear man was.

Only that was now my Pope. Our pope.

And then it all started happening. He’s an Argentine? I LOVE ARGENTINA. He’s a Jesuit? I LOVE THE JESUITS! He will be Pope Francis? I LOVE FRANCIS!!!

When he finally appeared on the balcony, he seemed so overwhelmed and even frightened. But then he started to speak, and oh, that smile! And his simple prayer, and asking the crowd to pray for him. I’m still taking it all in.

531624_509318629132159_489525303_n

I have great hopes for this humble, holy priest from Buenos Aires.

May God give him St Francis of Assisi’s love for the poor, St Francis Xavier’s love for the lost, and St Francis de Sales’ love for all Christians. Above all, may God give him the heart of Jesus for the world.

V. Let us pray for Francis, our Pope.

R. May the Lord preserve him, and give him life, and make him blessed upon the earth, and deliver him not up to the will of his enemies.

And now let us begin this journey, the Bishop and people, this journey of the Church of Rome which presides in charity over all the Churches, a journey of brotherhood in love, of mutual trust. Let us always pray for one another. Let us pray for the whole world that there might be a great sense of brotherhood.

601351_509318522465503_606463059_n

2 responses to “Pope Francis!

Leave a Reply

