Christ is King!

“Oh, what happiness would be Ours if all men, individuals, families, and nations, would but let themselves be governed by Christ!” (Pope Pius XI, Quas Primus, 1925)

Hans Memling, Christ Surrounded by Musician Angels, detail, 1485 (Koninklijk Museum voor Schone Kunsten, Antwerp)

He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation. For by him all things were created, in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities—all things were created through him and for him… For in him all the fullness of God was pleased to dwell, and through him to reconcile to himself all things, whether on earth or in heaven, making peace by the blood of his cross. (Col 1:15-16, 19-20)

“He must reign in our minds, which should assent with perfect submission and firm belief to revealed truths and to the doctrines of Christ. He must reign in our wills, which should obey the laws and precepts of God. He must reign in our hearts, which should spurn natural desires and love God above all things, and cleave to him alone. He must reign in our bodies and in our members, which should serve as instruments for the interior sanctification of our souls…” (Pope Pius XI, Quas Primus, 1925)

Christ in Glory, commissioned by Emperor Iyasu I Yohannes of Ethiopia, late 17th C. (British Museum, London)

“There is not one square inch of the entire creation about which Jesus Christ does not cry out, ‘This is mine! This belongs to me!'” (Abraham Kuyper)

Then I saw heaven opened, and behold, a white horse! The one sitting on it is called Faithful and True, and in righteousness he judges and makes war. His eyes are like a flame of fire, and on his head are many diadems, and he has a name written that no one knows but himself… From his mouth comes a sharp sword with which to strike down the nations, and he will rule them with a rod of iron. He will tread the winepress of the fury of the wrath of God the Almighty. On his robe and on his thigh he has a name written, King of kings and Lord of lords. (Rev 19:11-16)

Christ Surrounded by Angels and Saints, detail, 526 (Basilica of Sant’Apollinare Nuovo, Ravenna)

“Christ should reign first and foremost in our soul. But how would we reply if he asked us: “How do you go about letting me reign in you?” I would reply that I need lots of his grace. Only that way can my every heartbeat and breath, my least intense look, my most ordinary word, my most basic feeling be transformed into a hosanna to Christ my king.” (St Josemaria Escriva, Christ is Passing By, 181)

Jesus, be King in my soul, be King of my heart,

govern my mind and reign in my body.

Give me grace to serve you as my King,

and to love others as your servant.

Jesus, be King of the whole world,

govern our nations and reign in our families.

Give us grace to love you as our King,

and to serve others as your children.

Be King of All and Lord of All,

Be All to All and All in All,

But always be mine and be my own,

Be my Jesus, my King, my All.

Leave a Reply

