St Teresa’s Bookmark

St Teresa of Avila (1515 – 1582) wrote this prayer in her Breviary (prayerbook).

Four centuries later, I wrote it on a card sticky-taped to my computer at work.

It’s beautiful.

Peter Paul Rubens, St Teresa of Avila, 1615 (Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna)

Let nothing disturb you,

“Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you disquieted within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my help and my God.” (Psalm 42:5)

Nothing frighten you.

“Let not your hearts be troubled; believe in God, believe also in me.” (John 14:1)

All things are passing.

“As for man, his days are like grass; he flourishes like a flower of the field; for the wind passes over it, and it is gone, and its place knows it no more. But the steadfast love of the Lord is from everlasting to everlasting…” (Psalm 103:15-16a)

God never changes.

“Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.” (Hebrews 13:8)

Patience attains all things.

“But they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength, they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.” (Isaiah 40:31)

She who possesses God lacks nothing:

“But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O men of little faith?… But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things shall be yours as well.” (Matthew 6:30, 33)

God alone suffices.

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” (2 Corinthians 12:10)

Amen.

18 responses to “St Teresa’s Bookmark

    • Thank you. 🙂 It is a wonderful, comforting prayer isn’t it?

      I read somewhere that St Teresa is the patron of worriers and those suffering from anxiety or something similar. I think this prayer must be part of the reason!

  1. If it is possible to ‘third’ it, I do 🙂 It is a beautiful prayer – which I am copying our and putting in my prayer book – thank you 🙂

    • It is a good one, isn’t it! I think that’s what I love so much about it. It’s so short and yet so powerful. I hope you and your students benefit from St Teresa’s prayers – both written then and prayed now in Heaven! 🙂

Leave a Reply

