Anima Christi

The Anima Christi (Latin: Soul of Christ) was composed by someone sometime in the Middle Ages. It was attributed much later to St Ignatius of Loyola and taught to me by my year 10 Scripture teacher.

Some things stick with you. Now I pray it after receiving the Eucharist.

Soul of Christ, sanctify me

May God himself, the God of peace, sanctify you through and through. May your whole spirit, soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. (1 Thess 5:23)

Body of Christ, save me

For if, while we were God’s enemies, we were reconciled to him through the death of his Son, how much more, having been reconciled, shall we be saved through his life! (Rom 5:10)

Blood of Christ, inebriate me

“Do not get drunk on wine… Instead, be filled with the Spirit, speaking to one another with psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit.” (Eph 15:18-19)

Water from the side of Christ, wash me

“Let us draw near to God with a sincere heart and with the full assurance that faith brings, having… our bodies washed with pure water.” (Heb 10:22)

Passion of Christ, strengthen me

[I]f you suffer for doing good and you endure it, this is commendable before God. To this you were called, because Christ suffered for you, leaving you an example, that you should follow in his steps. (1 Pe 2:20-21)

Giotto, Crucifixion, Scrovegni Chapel, Padua (1305)

O Good Jesus, hear me

LORD, hear my prayer,  listen to my cry for mercy; in your faithfulness and righteousness  come to my relief. (Ps 143:1)

Within Thy wounds, hide me

For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. (Col 3:3)

Permit me not to be separated from Thee

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? (Rom 8:35)

From the malignant enemy, defend me

Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. (1 Pe 5:8)

In the hour of my death, call me

We will not all sleep, but we will all be changed —in a flash, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will be changed. (1 Co 15:51-52)

And bid me come unto Thee

“Then come, follow me.” (Mark 10:21)

That with Thy Saints I may praise Thee

Sing praises to the LORD, O you  his saints,  and  give thanks to his holy name. (Ps 30:4)

For ever and ever

Now to the King eternal, immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory for ever and ever. Amen. (1 Tim 1:17)

Amen.

2 responses to “Anima Christi

Leave a Reply

